Fiction

THE WALL BETWEEN- Chapter Seven

 I had my bath and rushed out to join everyone in breakfast. It was going to be big day, I was going to find out what happened to my mother.
“Hiqmat, your uncle will drop you off at school” Granny said. That was a good idea, I won’t have to wait for the bus. 

“OK” I said cleaning the table, I hurried into my room and took my bag. 

“Don’t come home late today” Uncle said, I was surprised he noticed I came late the previous day. “We all knew you came late but sometimes, somethings happen for a reason” he added, I nodded my head in agreement and alighted from the car. I walked into a building, it was a four storey building and the computer school was on the third.

Some hours into the class, we went on lunch break.The class usually last for five hours, I took my bag and left during lunch break making sure no one saw me. I was on my way to the car park to get a taxi, when i saw the man from the previous evening. The man who got everyone upset, I felt like going to go him. I wanted to know why he got everyone angry, but no one asked me to, I continued walking to the park.

 I took a taxi to Aunty Faiza’s house. I walked into the compound and knocked at the door. Aunt Faiza opened the door and I walked in. 

“As-salam alaikum waramotulah wabarakatuh” I greeted 

“Walaykum Salam waramotulah wabarakatuh” she replied “Hiqmat, you are early hope you went to class?” She asked

“Yes, I did” I said saving the story to myself 

“Good” she murmured 

“When are you taking me there Aunt?” I asked few minutes later, I didn’t want to waste anymore time. 

“Don’t be in a hurry dear” she said smiling, “Did you tell anyone you were coming over?” she asked 

“No” I answered.

“Why?” she asked

“They won’t let me” I replied

 “You didn’t tell them you were coming here yesterday” she said and I nodded “You have to be careful, you are still a child” she said scolding me. 

   Few minutes later, there was a knock on the door. Aunt Baraqah walked in, I was surprised to see her even though it’s her sisters house. 

She looked at me and said “You should be in class right”. 

“Am sorry, I came to see Aunt Faiza” I said

“It’s okay” she replied

“Hiqmat, please make some Zobo drink for us” Aunt Faiza said sending me to the kitchen.

  I could hear the two sisters bonding as I walked into the kitchen. Zobo is made out of dried hibiscus flowers, cooked, filtered and the juice is mixed with different varieties of flavours. Minutes later I was done preparing the drink, I was about walking into the sitting room when I heard them talking.

“I think we should tell her everything, she needs to know” Aunt Faiza said “She’s going through a lot, she may not say it but she’s hurting” 

“I know, but what if she can’t handle it. She’s too young for this” Aunt Baraqah 

“When are we going to tell her, when they come to take her or now” Aunt Faiza said.

Who is coming to take me?, There are a lot of things I don’t know. I took the Zobo into the sitting room and served them, I turned around to leave when Aunt Baraqah called me.

“Hiqmat, your Aunt and I have decided to tell you everything about your mother” she said 

“We want to be sure if you will be able to handle it” Aunt Faiza added.

“I can” I said nodding my head.

There’s nothing I wanted more than to know what happened to my mother and going to the university. I can handle everything as long as I get to know what happened to my mother.

“Alright” Aunty Faiza said telling me to sit beside her. “If you feel uncomfortable let us know” she said holding my hands.

“Let me call Granny and tell her you are with me” Aunt Baraqah said bringing out her phone. After the call, she swapped seat with Anty Faiza.

“Are you sure you want to know what happened” Aunt Baraqah

“Yes” I said, Aunt Faiza smiled telling her to go ahead.

“Alright, You see” Aunt Baraqah started.

*****************************************

  Back at home, my cousin Kareem come home. Kareem is Uncle’s son, he’s my first cousin. I called him some days earlier, telling him about Grandpa’s refusal to send me to the university. He promised he would be coming over to see if he could convince Grandpa. 

Granny was excited to see him, she hasn’t seen him in a long time. My cousin is a lawyer, he lives in Lagos with his sister Maryam who’s in the university. His visits were usually short and unannounced. 

Uncle got back from work and was welcomed by his son who didn’t tell him he was coming. 

“As-salam alaikum” Kareem greeted 

“Walaykum Salam, it’s good to see you” Uncle replied ” You didn’t tell me you were coming home” he added

” I don’t intend on staying long” Kareem said 

“As usual, hope your sister is aware you coming” Uncle asked

“Yes” he replied

Uncle noticed my absence, “Where’s Hiqmat?” he asked

“Granny said she is with Aunt Baraqah” Kareem answered

…. To be continued.

Leave a comment